Peter Glaab, John Carroll University, Class of 2015

Image

My name is Peter Glaab and I am currently a junior majoring in Political Science at John Carroll University.  This past summer I traveled to Italy and Spain with John Carroll University’s Bishop Pilla Program’s Summer Institute.

Studying abroad for five weeks has really enhanced my learning experience at John Carroll.  At first, I was extremely nervous about going abroad and spending five weeks with people I had never met, but I was immediately put at ease as soon as we arrived in Italy.  By our first night in L’Aquila, Italy, our group was instantly close and I am still good friends with many of them today.

Taking classes and studying in foreign countries was a truly an amazing experience where I enhanced my knowledge of Italian and Spanish literature and the Italian language.  In addition to our studies, the places we visited in both Italy and Spain were some of the most beautiful places I have ever seen.  At the end of the five weeks, I was sad to leave Italy and the people I had met, but I knew that this experience was just the beginning of what I now could accomplish because of all that I have learned while abroad.

The subjects we studied, the places we visited, and the people I met during the Summer Institute will continue to be with me throughout my years left at Carroll and onward into my future career.  By the end of the five weeks, I found myself a more knowledgeable and more independent person than I was before I left for the Institute.  Although extremely nervous at first, I would not trade the experiences I had and memories I made while abroad for anything in the world.  I would encourage anyone who is able to, to attend the Bishop Pilla Summer Institute in the future because it truly was one of the greatest experiences of my life and one that I will continue to cherish in my future schooling and career.                   

Feel free to comment

